Unoccupy Trinidad and Tobago Carnival

9 12 2011

Take win 1%’ers. Allyuh have secured the realm. I always considered mehself ah working-class Carnival enthusiast because I eh come from money and didntmind putting out a few extra shillings for 2 things, Security and Good Music. Never needed to be in an all-inclusive fete or band because I could eat a proper plate ah food before ah go out and not overhyped “gourmet” cutters in afete……ah could patronize d street vendors and walk wit meh pouch full ah authentic Premium Scotch or Rum. All ah ever need and want is proper Security and competent disc Jockeys to play meh soca. But before I really start ranting like a madman I go say this. The beauty of life is the ability to make changes and have choices. And we from the Caribbean have been blessed with the opportunity to exercise that right although the Colonialistic mentality is still strong like unstrained babash.

I see it suppose to have ah all-inclusive LIME ting going on Carnival Wednesday at Hyatt and from what ah did hear it was around $1000tt – $1200tt last year. Now this year it running from $1200 – $1800tt. Maybe I should quote in US dollars…..$200US – $300US respectively. Now get this. That is General Admission and VIP. So I guessing the whole dynamics change in 11+ months. Allyuh loss allyuh focking marbles in a game a pitch.  Does ah room and 3 girls from Copa come wit dat?

The other set ah mad people is from meh bess fete come Thursday, Beach House. I hear ah rumor dat dey talking bout raising d price tuh $1000tt or $200US and supposedly is to make it more intimate or some shit so. IfI want intimacy i go lock myself up in a room wit meh woman. Oh people complaining bout it had too much people and dey had to wait on line for food and drinks. If allyuh dat hungry do like me and open d gates with the organizers and caters at d start time. I does even help dem bring d food in and set up dey stations. It takes a village and I have no problem lending a hand tuh another human being success.

Last but not least ah going tuh talk about meh bess band last year YUMA. Like allyuh under a SoE? Allyuh doh care bout foreign masqueraders? Maybe allyuh need tuh start quoting in pound sterling. Gone by d mascamp and no costumes on display. So dem foreign woman coming down on a little holidays cah get a little peak of what dey paying $600US+ for? Allyuh large. And what really going on with allyuh Facebook Wall. Was there a plot tuh spam it with Tribe costumes? From what I seeing is only the administrator allowed to post on the Wall. Is so allyuh treating people after 1 year. Young Upward blah blah blah.

Is really these 3 things i wanted tuh touch on and not go into the whole ranting and raving thing because like ah said earlier. We have choices. And sometimes we have to look at why society tun up. Last year I had tuh put meh foot down on meh jouvert band because it have no blance in cost for services being received. This year I was going tuh LIME Wednesday but how much can I really eat and drink in 8 hours tuh justify what ah paying? And worse yet dey live entertainers not up tuh par. I not going tuh d Beach House Thursday either if they shit on deyself and raise dat price. And YUMA doh tink I eh go scalp dat costume wit a profit tuh some bazodee sheep who wat tuh chase down some YUMA fowls.

I am appealing to mostly the FOREIGNERS who drop THOUSANDS of dollars every year to pay homage tuh d greatest Carnival in d World. I am appealing tuh d locals who have the means to attend these big shot fetes. Put allyuh foot down. Look at the world around you and the changes that taking place. Individuals are standing up to the 1% at every corner of the globe. Carnival imitates life. It is a fact to those of us who have a deeper understanding of life. I know its late and money is already invested for 2012. But exercise your right to get value for your money in 2012 and think long and hard about making more changes for 2013 (God Spare Life). Is time tuh stop d 1% from tiefing people head with their nonsense.  1%’ers respond at allyuh own risk.


Actions

Information

8 responses

10 12 2011
Eloquence, Inc.

I completely agree. And the same people complaining will make sure let you know they went cause the goal is less about a good time and the spirit of carnival and more about hyping on somebody that you have the money to be there.

For some that $300 USD for one party is chump change, but that would be celebrities and people who come from families where the money is old and the new generation can not work a day in their lives and still live well. That is NOT 90% of the people in these fetes. Way too much fronting.

I LOVE an all white fete but the pictures I want to take are not worth $200USD AND HOW DO YOU HAVE VIP IN AN ALLLLL-INCLUUUUUSIVE EVENT? I am waiting to see who will show off about they paid that, cause anybody who ever been a REAL VIP know if you important to the people who put on the event, you don’t pay to go in!

12 12 2011
Natasha MrsFete BacchanalDiva

Why do I know exactly who wrote this..lol..lol…lol!

14 12 2011
Eleanora

could not have said it better my self. i going home to play meh mas and dais it. no fete for me. i not paying dem ridiculous prices for fete. me eh kill no priest!!!

12 01 2012
Mandy Bennett

I luv it!! Funny but soooo true!
I don’t get it. Last year I tried to get into Tribe (from the US) and not only is it super-exclusive (you gotta be a friend of a friend of the neighbour’s old goat and still bend over and take it while completing an application????) but also EXPENSIVE!!!
When I thought of nixing the “playing mas” altogether and just go to fetes (who really wants to do that when visiting) I hear the prices are outta control!! Brian Lara aint all that to me and Beach House is ridic (I hear a huge percentage of that increase is towards infrastructure?) Whatever! My choice is to not pay and visit Trini off-peak season…yes I’m balling on a budget.
Mandy
http://mandyjbennett.blogspot.com

15 01 2012
Canboulay

They just moved the party back to Couva and the price is still $1000TT so their “infrastructure” alibi has collapsed and burned. I do anticipate scalpers will be selling tickets outside for substantially less on the day of the event.

15 01 2012
Eloquence, Inc.

But Mandy you are being just as exclusive and unnecessary as TRIBE, don’t you see? You can’t get in TRIBE and Brian Lara and Beach House too expensive…so 1 band out of over 20 and 2 fetes out of dozens and you skip carnival altogether?

If you don’t have TRIBE money don’t attempt it…Oasis is there, D’Krewe Carnival is there, Ronnie & Caro is there, Pulse 8 is there, HARTS is there…and these are just a FEW!

If you don’t have Beach House money C’est La Vie is on the beach and it’s $650 TTD this year.

Soca Monarch is there.

Insomnia is there.

Trini Posse is there.

If you don’t have Brian Lara Money there is Sophisticated Slackness (I don’t like the name personally but, it’s there!), there is Puro Blanco All-White Boat Cruise for $35 USD (plus a fee if you want a service like The Carnival Connection to run around and get all your tickets for you and deliver them neat and nice to your door when you touch down in TNT).

Silver Mudders having a pre-j’ouvert party INCLUDED in their $500 TTD j’ouvert price, and it suppose to be all-inclusive too.

Trinidad Carnival Diary puts out a $500-$600 TTD or less Budget Fete List annually now as of last year, check her on Facebook! As her fan Racquel Rocky noted, she used that list and enjoyed quite a few nice cheap fetes, had a great time, and stopped drinking the expensive exclusive fete Kool-aid!

If someone wants to do Trinidad Carnival going in the off season is a fail, that’s just a different trip altogether.

I notice myself that VIP in Trinidad consists of a section off to the side looking like a quarantine more than anything else, no best view of the stage at all. I’m from Jamaica if you paying extra money you getting nicer views of everything, and nicer everything, period, unless you paying late or at the gate…buy in advance is always cheaper… Trinidad scalpers I hear now selling things CHEAPER at the gate so TNT is backwards with that now, you invest in a promoter’s thing by paying early up front and get punished by paying MORE than the people who take their chances on the scalper at the gate. Rubbish. From my observation AND the complaints of many near and far, Trinidad don’t know how to do VIP properly and yes the concept of VIP in an ALL INCLUSIVE is ridiculous. So until I hear some kind of rave reviews about something amazing and EXTRA you get in VIP that you DON’T get in regular…won’t be doing VIP of any fete unless I get INVITED there.

If I want an all-inclusive though, I’ll do it without complaint. I never got the ones who actually buy the ticket or know full well they attending no matter the cost but stay bawling on TCD and elsewhere about the prices. The hypocrisy of the masses needs to die…support the other fetes going on, get out of the box and the shell and the chains and try something new, or pay the money and hush.

13 01 2012
chinos

Exactly! Why have VIP in an all-inclusive? In fact, why have a paying VIP at all? That is so ridiculously annoying. This VIP thing was a money making scam that started to kick off post 2005. Or maybe I never noticed it before. Steups. The worst part is, you pay TTD300, 500 or 800 for a party and is all the same. Port-a-Pottys. Long lines for food. Drinks that not worth my time. No sit down area. Bleh. I don’t attend fetes anymore. Might take a pass in CBTT this year but its only events with artiste performance or what I consider to be valid Cval – Pan, Soca Mon., Dimanche Gras, Jouvert, Cval Mon and Tues etc that seeing me. Cval is supposed to be the great equaliser, and full of life! I might pay 650TTD to chill in CBTT but not going to waste time and money behind rum shop limes that pretending to be foie gras events.

27 01 2013
We’re loving it…Sobeit’s 2013 Carnival presentation | Islandista

[…] with the way Carnival on the whole has been going in Trinidad over the last decade or so. Read what de fellas over at Wining Kriminals had to say about the prices of Carnival last year.  Even with Saucy’s Fete Budget Planner over at […]

Leave a comment